Gifts that give back – building an ethical brand

Handmade silver nature jewellery
Standard

I make silver jewellery to support my hospital for poorly and injured hedgehogs and buy food and medicines to help them back to the wild. It’s a gift that gives back. My customers receive something beautiful for themselves or a loved one and these adorable garden residents are helped in the process.

LSHjewellerybox1

Silver jewellery by Little Silver Hedgehog

My jewellery is inspired by nature and wildlife and I work hard to carry these values throughout the business; from the materials I use to make the jewellery, to the boxes I package it in. Where possible, everything is recycled and recyclable.
I use silver clay to create my designs. It is an amazing product that allows nature to literally be imprinted upon silver. Leaves, flower heads, plant stems, shells, can all be pressed into the clay, which is then fired to 99% silver. Best of all, it is a recycled product, made from recycled metals including silver from film stock and negatives.

11884657_868540439850324_8072763198436740728_o

Designs made in silver clay ready for firing

Each piece of jewellery comes packaged in a Little Silver Hedgehog gift box – ready to give as a gift or to keep for yourself if you can’t bear to part with it. I use these gorgeous boxes from the Tiny Box Company. The card is made from consumer waste and the paper outer from sustainable sources. The inserts are made from recycled cotton. The outer boxes I use for sending orders through the post are also made of recycled card, which can itself be recycled.

il_570xN.781114015_m0yr

Little Silver Hedgehog gift boxes

As well as raising vital funds, my aim is also to use the jewellery to raise awareness of the plight of hedgehogs – whose numbers have dwindled in recent decades. There are now thought to be less than one million left in the wild with humans being the number one threat to their survival.

Each order includes a leaflet about how to help hedgehogs by feeding them, creating a wildlife garden and what to do if you find a poorly one out in daylight. I hope that all my customers will be inspired to do their bit and pass the information on to family or friends, multiplying the impact and the numbers I can reach with this vital message.

11412225_835502723154096_568123127824418007_o.jpg

An orphaned baby hoglet – one of the hedgehogs helped by my rescue work

I hope that my customers can take heart in the fact that their purchase helps a hedgehog and doesn’t hurt the planet in the process – it really is a gift that gives back.

www.littlesilverhedgehog.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

